SIESO announce support for IChemE medals – open for nominations

The Institution of Chemical Engineers (IChemE) is calling on the profession to put forward nominations for its 2017 medals and prizes.

Two of the medals have received new support this year, from SIESO – the association for professionals involved in the prevention and response to industrial and commercial incidents. The association has announced that it will sponsor the Frank Lees Medal and the Franklin Medal, which recognise achievements by chemical engineers working in the area of safety and loss prevention. 

Its support will award the 2017 Lees and Franklin Medal winners with a £250 prize to support further progress in helping to make the process industries safer.

Ken Readman, Chairman of SIESO, said:

“For the last 65 years SIESO has sought to bring together industry, commerce, the emergency services, central and local government and the regulatory bodies to share ideas, experience and best practice in preventing and mitigating industrial incidents.  We are delighted to support process safety professionals with a financial award to the Franklin and Frank Lees Medal winners for 2017.  The donation will support IChemE’s mission to advance process safety worldwide.”

This year’s medals and prizes also recognise excellence in a further 15 categories spanning outstanding research, career achievements and services to the profession and Institution. Several IChemE medals celebrate some of the most illustrious chemical engineering luminaries from across the globe, by perpetuating their names and historic achievements well into the future.

The 2016 round-up of medals and prizes included twenty five winners from ten different countries; including Australia, Malaysia, and the UK.

IChemE Director of Publications, Claudia Flavell-While said:

“Chemical engineers are achieving amazing breakthroughs every day to make the world a better place. As a professional body we know that there are chemical and process engineers working across a diverse range of sectors, and our medals aim to recognise their outstanding service and achievement.

She continued; “Ultimately the IChemE medals programme supports the belief that chemical engineering matters, and I encourage professionals both inside and outside IChemE membership to nominate the individuals who continually support this message through their work, be it in industry or academia.”

The chemical engineering profession is being called upon to make their nominations before 31 October 2017. The deadline for the Macnab-Lacey Prize came to a close in June. Self-nominations will not be considered.

Those wishing to nominate a colleague, friend or peer for an award should visit  to download the nomination form and to view the judging criteria for individual medals. For all other enquiries, contact [email protected].

IChemE Medals and Prizes

The following IChemE Medals and Prizes are open for nominations this year.

Ambassador Prize 

The Ambassador prize is awarded to an IChemE member who has made an exceptional contribution. The prize is typically awarded in recognition of a sustained period of work on a short to medium term project.

Andrew Medal 

In memory of Professor Syd Andrew, the Andrew Medal recognises a major contribution in the field of heterogeneous catalysts.

Bird, Stewart and Lightfoot Medal 

The medal recognises a major contribution to research in the area of transport phenomena.

Council Medal 

The Council medal is awarded to an individual who has given exceptional service to an IChemE special project.

Donald Medal 

The Donald medal is awarded to an individual for outstanding services in biochemical engineering. It is named after Honorary Secretary and former Ramsay Professor at University College London, Maxwell Donald.

Franklin Medal 

Ned Franklin is a former IChemE president who worked in the nuclear industry. His medal recognises outstanding service in occupational health, safety, loss prevention and care for the environment.

Arnold Greene Medal 

[Frank] Arnold Greene was a founder member of IChemE who served as President in 1943-44 and also held the post of Honorary Treasurer. The medal is awarded each year for the most meritorious long-term contribution to the progress of IChemE.

Hanson Medal 

The Hanson medal is for the best contributor to the Institution’s magazine The Chemical Engineer (formerly tce). It is awarded annually and is named after a past chairman of The Chemical Engineer editorial advisory board.

Hutchison Medal 

The Hutchison medal is named in memory of Sir Kenneth Hutchison CBE, president of IChemE 1959-1960. The medal is awarded for practical, wide-ranging, philosophical or thought-provoking published papers.

Frank Lees Medal 

Frank Lees was a Professor at Loughborough University and his medal is awarded to the most meritorious publication on the topic of safety and loss prevention in an IChemE publication.

Macnab-Lacey Prize 

The Macnab-Lacey prize is awarded to a student design project that best shows how chemical engineering practice can contribute to a more sustainable world. The prize is open to all design projects involving students on University courses accredited by IChemE.

Sargent Medal 

Named after Roger Sargent, former president of IChemE and Professor of chemical engineering at Imperial College, this medal recognise a major contribution to research in the area of computer-aided product and process engineering.

MM Sharma Medal 

This medal recognises sustained outstanding research contributions in chemical engineering across an individual’s career.

Frank Morton Medal 

Former president Professor Frank Morton’s commitment to teaching is commemorated with his medal, which recognises excellence in chemical engineering education.

Senior Moulton Medal 

Lord Moulton is best known for the development of chemical engineering during World War I – specifically 1914-1918 when he took charge of explosives supply. The Senior Moulton medal is awarded to a mature author, or authors, for the most meritorious paper published by IChemE during the last year.

Junior Moulton Medal 

The Junior Moulton medal follows the same criteria as the Senior Moulton medal. It recognises the most meritorious paper published by IChemE during the last year by the author, or co-author, who has graduated within the last ten years (excluding career breaks) at the time of submission of the paper.

Nicklin Medal 

The Nicklin medal is an early careers award that recognises up-and-coming researchers, active in any research area within chemical and process engineering. Candidates must have no more than five years postdoctoral research experience and should have produced international quality research outputs.

Related links

IChemE Medals